Assault With a Deadly Weapon Charges in Modesto, CA
Call Our Modesto Criminal Defense Lawyer
Assault and battery offenses are usually elevated to felony charges if
a deadly weapon is involved in the alleged
violent crime. California Penal Code 245(a)(1) PC defines assault with a deadly weapon
as: “Any person who commits an assault upon the person of another
with a deadly weapon or instrument.” If you are facing charges for
assault with a deadly weapon, it is vital that you obtain legal representation
from a reputable Modesto criminal defense attorney at the Law Offices
of Mark Girdner as soon as possible.
Call the Law Offices of Mark W. Girdner at (209) 326-1533 today and start
assembling your criminal defense.
What is a Deadly Weapon?
The state of California considers any object that is used to increase the
harm done to an individual to be a “deadly weapon.” As a result,
the list of deadly weapons is infinitely long, and a skilled lawyer should
be consulted to determine if the object in question actually qualifies
as a deadly weapon.
Deadly weapons could include objects, such as:
- Guns or firearms
- Glass bottles
- Pencils or pens
- Heavy blunt objects (bricks, rolling pins, etc.)
- Dogs or other animals that will attack on command
Additionally, in special circumstances, inflicting great harm using your
hands or feet could be considered assault with a deadly weapon depending
on the force used to inflict the injuries. If the victim sustains severe
physical injuries, you could potentially be charged with assault with
a deadly weapon.
Assault with a deadly weapon may seem similar to the crime of
battery, but has one key difference. Where battery actually requires physical
contact to be charged, assault with a deadly weapon does not actually
need to occur for the crime to be charged. Merely threatening to commit
the crime against a victim can lead to charges for assault with a deadly
weapon. This can include attempting to inflict the harm but failing to do so.
Penalties for Assault with a Deadly Weapon in California
Based on the circumstances of the specific case, assault with a deadly
weapon can be charged as either a misdemeanor or felony offense. The charges
and potential penalties are determined by:
- The type of weapon used in the alleged crime;
- Whether the victim was injured in the assault, and the severity of that
- Whether the alleged crime was committed against a police officer, firefighter,
or other person protected under law.
If you are convicted of misdemeanor assault with a deadly weapon, you will
face a maximum sentence of 1 year in county jail. The base sentence for
felony assault with a deadly weapon is 2 to 4 years in state prison, but
the sentence will likely be increased if you used a firearm during the
alleged offense or if the victim was a protected person.
The Benefits of Hiring Attorney Mark Girdner for Your Case
Law Offices of Mark W. Girdner has the experience and legal skill you need to fight back against your
charges. Attorney Mark Girdner has served as a deputy district attorney
for Stanislaus County, giving him a detailed knowledge of our state’s
laws as well as a prosecutor’s arguments and how to counter them.
If you are facing assault with a deadly weapon charges,
contact the Law Offices of Mark W. Girdner today to receive a
free initial consultation and learn about your defense options!