Modesto Burglary Attorney

California Burglary Laws & Types of Burglary

First-degree burglary also known as residential burglary is a class 2 felony, second-degree burglary also known as commercial burglary is a class 3 felony. Under the California penal code 459, burglary is “entering a room, structure or locked vehicle with the intent to commit a felony once inside.”

Note - Regardless of whether or not there was a forced entry, prosecutors can charge you with a “breaking and entering” offense.

Penalties for Burglary in California

First-degree burglary is always a felony, but whether second-degree burglary can be filed as a misdemeanor or felony depending on the circumstances in which the offense took place and your past criminal record.

First Degree Burglary California

Penalties for first-degree burglary can include:

  • Up to six years in state prison
  • Up to $10,000 in fines
  • Counts as a strike under California’s three-strikes law

California Second Degree Burglary

Penalties for second-degree burglary charged as a misdemeanor can include:

  • Up to one year in county jail
  • Up to $1,000 in fines

Penalties for second-degree burglary charged as a felony can include:

  • Up to three years in state prison
  • Up to $10,000 in fines

Experienced Legal Counsel for Burglary Cases in California

Retaining a strong and aggressive Modesto burglary lawyer is the first step in getting the help you need. Mark Girdner is familiar with California law and can offer the assistance necessary when you or a loved one is facing charges. The Law Offices of Mark Girdner is experienced in defending clients against all types of theft crimes and can prove the dedicated and effective legal advocacy needed to protect your rights.

We’re available 24/7, so call us today to schedule your free consultation!