DUI & Child Endangerment in California
Speak with an Experienced Modesto DUI Attorney
DUI while a child was in the car? If the child is under the age of 14, you
could be facing enhanced penalties. The
Law Offices of Mark Girdner can walk you through your legal options and help you fight these charges.
Backed by 14+ years of experience, including experience as a former prosecutor,
Attorney Girdner has the knowledge and resources necessary to effectively challenge the
Learn more about your legal options by calling us today at (209) 326-1533!
We offer free case evaluations.
Enhanced Penalties for Child Endangerment
California’s DUI laws allow for enhanced penalties in situations
involving DUI and a minor under the age of 14 in the vehicle. These enhanced
penalties consist of additional mandatory jail time.
The additional jail time varies depending on the type of DUI:
First Offense: 48 hours in jail
Second Offense: 10 days in jail
Third Offense: 30 days in jail
Fourth Offense Misdemeanor: 90 days in jail
It doesn’t matter whether your driving pattern was safe, whether
you had any intent to harm the child, or what level of intoxication you
experienced – to impose these enhanced penalties, the prosecution
only has to prove that you were driving under the influence and that you
had a child under 14 in the car while you were driving.
Call a Modesto DUI Lawyer from Our Firm 24/7!
Child endangerment charges are not necessarily filed in every DUI case
in which a child is present in the car. Typically, prosecutors save these
enhanced charges and penalties for cases they believe are more serious.
However, once faced with these serious charges, you need to get experienced
defense. The best way to avoid child endangerment charges is to fight your DUI
charges with an experienced attorney. With the Law Offices of Mark Girdner
on your side, you can rest easy, knowing that we will investigate all
possible avenues in order to reduce or possibly even dismiss your charges.
Contact our firm anytime, 24/7!